Registration (for everyone)
  Symposium main venue  

  Registration (Day 1) October 31,
09:00 - 17:00
(Japan Standard Time, UTC+9)
  Opening Address 09:30 - 09:40
  Material I (Civil Engineering) 09:40 - 11:00
  Lunch break 11:00 - 13:00
  Keynote Lecture I
"History and future outlook of acoustic emission sensors"
Prof. Didem Ozevin (University of Illinois)
13:00 - 13:40
  Materials II (Concrete) 14:00 - 15:20
  Signal Processingand AE analysis 15:40 - 17:20

  Registration (Day 2) November 1,
09:00 - 16:30
  Sensor and Measurement System 09:40 - 11:00
  Lunch break 11:00 - 13:00
  Keynote Lecture II
"AE monitoring of microdamage in materials, devices and tissues"
Prof. Shuichi Wakayama (Tokyo Metropolitan University)
13:00 - 13:40
  Energy System 14:00 - 15:00
  Materials III (Composite and Polymer) 15:20 - 16:40
18:00 -

  Registration (Day 3) November 2,
09:00 - 16:00
  Structures 09:40 - 11:00
  Material IV (Processing) 13:00 - 14:00
  Material V (Metal) 14:20 - 15:40
  Diagnostics 16:00 - 17:00
  Closing Address 17:00 - 17:10


Takuma Matsuo
Chair of the steering committee
Meiji University
Kaita Ito
Vice-chair of the steering committee
National Institute for Materials Science
Welcome to the 26th IAES (International Acoustic Emission Symposium) held in the Kawasaki City, JAPAN. It is our honor to be the chair and vice-chair of the steering committee of this historic symposium. IAES has been held every two years since 1972 in Japan. The symposiums are organized by the Japanese Society for Non-Destructive Inspection (JSNDI). The topics discussed at IAES cover a wide range of applications and industries. We, the members of organizing committee welcome all researchers and engineers related to Acoustic Emission and look forward to discussing with you.

Kawasaki City is located in the Tokyo Bay-area and is a very attractive city situated between two of Japan's leading cities, Tokyo and Yokohama. There are more than 200 research and development institutions in the city, attracting a large number of researchers and engineers. Additionally, the city has a well-developed transportation network and is easily accessible from overseas via Haneda International Airport. I hope you will enjoy not only the symposium but also the cultural atmosphere around the Tokyo Bay-area.



Organizing committee

H. Moriya (Chair)Tohoku University
H. ChoAoyama Gakuin University
M. EnokiThe University of Tokyo
K. HashimotoHokkaido University
K. ItoNational institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
M. T. I. KhanSaga University
M. MaedaChiyoda Corporation
T. MatsuoMeiji University
Y. MizutaniTokyo Institute of Technology
H. NakamuraIHI Inspection & Instrumentation Co., Ltd.
S. NishimotoSoundness Evaluation Technology Lab. Co., Ltd.
S. NishinoiriCentral Research Institute of Electric Power Industry
K. OhnoTokyo Metropolitan University
N. OkudeTokai Technology Center
T. SakaiSaitama University
K. SatoTokyo University of Agriculture and Technology
T. ShiotaniKyoto University
T. ShiraiwaThe University of Tokyo
M. ShiwaHappy Science University
T. SuzukiNiigata University
S. WakayamaTokyo Metropolitan University
T. WatanabeThe University of Tokushima
I. YamamotoFuji Ceramics Corporation
T. YasudaNational Institute of Technology, Anan College
H. YukiThe University of Electro-Communications

Steering committee

T. Matsuo (Chair)Meiji University
K. Ito (Vice-chair)National institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
Y. MizutaniTokyo Institute of Technology
K. OhnoTokyo Metropolitan University
H. YukiThe University of Electro-Communications

International advisory board

A. N. AnastasopoulosMistras Group Hellas A.B.E.E.
D. G. AggelisVrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
I. J. BaranOffice of Technical Inspection, Cracow, Poland
A. J. BrunnerRetired Scientist, Zuerich, Switzerland
H. K. ChaiUniversity of Edinburgh, Scotland
M. Y. ChoiKorea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Korea
A. GallegoUniversidad of Granada, Spain
N. GodinINSA, France
V. GodinezMISTRAS Holdings
T. KekUniversity of Ljubljana, Slovenia
A. KontsosDrexel University, U.S.A.
D. KosnikCTL Group, U.S.A.
G. LacidognaPolitecnico di Torino, Italy
G. MantheiTHM - University of Applied Sciences, Germany
K. OnoUniversity of California, Los Angeles, U.S.A.
D. OzevinUniversity of Illinois Chicago, U.S.A.
R. PullinCardiff University, U.K.
P. L. PahalavanDelft University of Technology, The Netherlands
G. QiThe University of Memphis, U.S.A.
C. R. Rios-SoberanisScientific Research Center of Yucatan, Mexico
M. SauseUniversity of Augsburg, Germany
H. VallenVallen Systeme, Germany
E. VerstyngeKU Leuven, Belgium
D. YoonKorea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Korea